Skip Navigation
Online Bookstore Book Supplements Newsletter Subscription For Academics For Bookshops For Authors About Us Journals

The Holt Prize

The Holt Prize will be awarded every two years to an unpublished manuscript that is a legal work of an academic or practical nature. It must be the author's first published book. The winner of the Holt Prize will receive a $12,000 cash prize and a publishing contract with The Federation Press.

Named in honour of the late Christopher Holt, co-founder of The Federation Press, the award aims to foster emerging authors and in doing so continue the legacy of a man who gave many notable academic authors their first publishing opportunity.

The Federation Press is pleased to announce the joint winners of the 2015 Holt Prize.

Dr Scott Stephenson, Melbourne University
From Dialog to Disagreement in Comparative Rights Constitutionalism.
Dr Giovanni Di Lieto, Monash University
Migrant Labour Law: Unfolding Justice at Work in Free Markets. We are delighted to be publishing their work.
The two winners also share the cash award.

We also look forward to publishing the work of two finalists:
Dr Yee-Fui Ng, RMIT
Ministerial Advisers in Australia: The Modern Legal Context
Dr James Watson, Barrister, Banco Chambers
The Origins of the Duty to Account

We received a large number of very high quality entries and thank all applicants for their efforts.

Thank you to our distinguished judging panel - Justice Stephen Gageler, Neil Williams SC and Professor Andrew Lynch for undertaking the enormous task of reviewing all of the entries and selecting our winners.

Please visit our website early 2016 for more information on the Holt Prize 2017.

Short bio and blurb on our finalist: click here

Photos, 25 November 2015: click here

        BACK TO TOP