Skip Navigation
Online Bookstore Book Supplements Newsletter Subscription For Academics For Bookshops For Authors About Us Journals Holt Prize

The Holt Prize

The Holt Prize was established in 2015 and is a biennial publishing award which recognises excellence in unpublished legal works of an academic or practical nature. The winner of the Holt Prize is awarded a $12,000 cash prize and a publishing contract with The Federation Press.

The prize is named after the late Christopher Holt, co-founder of The Federation Press, who gave many notable academics their first publishing opportunity. Submissions for the 2019 Holt Prize close on 31 March 2019. For more information visit Holt Prize 2019.

Our distinguished judging panel for 2019 comprises The Hon Justice William Gummow AC,
The Hon Justice Alan Robertson and Ruth Higgins SC.

The winner of the 2017 Holt Prize was Dr Dylan Lino of The University of Western Australia for Constitutional Recognition of Australia's Indigenous People: Law, History and Politics.

In this insightful manuscript, Lino covers the history of Australian debates on Indigenous recognition before developing a theoretical account that sees constitutional recognition in terms of Indigenous peoples' struggles to have their identities respected within the settler constitutional order. In doing so, constitutional recognition emerges not as a postcolonial endpoint but as an ongoing process of renegotiating the basic Indigenous-settler political relationship.

The judges for the 2017 prize were the Hon Justice Virginia Bell AC, The Hon Keith Mason AC QC and Professor George William AO. You may order Dylan Lino's book which published in September 2018 here.

Left to Right: Dylan Lino, The Hon Justice Virginia Bell AC Left to Right: Professor George Williams AO, The Hon Justice Virginia Bell AC, Dylan Lino, The Hon Keith Mason AC QC

The joint winners of the inaugural Holt Prize 2015 were:

Dr Giovanni Di Lieto
Monash University
Migrant Labour Law: Unfolding Justice at Work in Free Markets

Dr Scott Stephenson
The University of Melbourne
From Dialogue to Disagreement in Comparative Rights Constitutionalism

The Federation Press also published the outstanding works of these 2015 finalists:

Dr Yee-Fui Ng
RMIT University
Ministerial Advisers in Australia: The Modern Legal Context

Dr James Watson
Banco Chambers
The Duty to Account: Development and Principles

        BACK TO TOP